> Search
 > FAQ
» Stats
Members: 14,355
Threads: 64,156
Welcome to our newest member, H_marshall
Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2020, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to Hunting, new to forum

Hello all! Name is Matt and I'm 33. Marine veteran. Married. Only a fur baby.

I know it is late where you are at, but it's only midnight here in SoCal and I'm on the night shift right now. I will hopefully be relocating to Utah next month or beginning of January as long as I get the job I interviewed for.

We decided to take a very significant pay cut to be able to have some more work-life balance (I currently work as a 911 dispatcher for my County Fire Department). It will also allow me to have a 9-5 and finish my Bachelor's Degree.

Well, with that being said. About 3 years ago I got interested in hunting. Then about 2 years ago I ran across Meat Eater on Netflix. I was sold. With the demanding job and crazy overtime and fires we have here at work, I just never really got out to hunt (even small game). I'm not very close to the wilderness (about 2+ hours) or a reasonable place to hunt.

In that time though I have acquired just about every piece of gear I will need (and probably some I won't need). I pretty much have (or will have) all the basic clothing I will need for hunting in the West (All this sans the outer shell initially atleast). I only know what I have read in Steve's books, watched online, and read online. Don't really know anyone that hunts seriously, so no mentor.

We will be moving to the SLC area likely. I would love to find a club to join or just someone who is willing to teach someone eager to learn. I want to do it all and have all the firearms needed to go for a squirrel to moose and upland birds. So if anyone wants to school me if it works out, let me know!