Threads: 63,548
Welcome to our newest member, Lacrosse63
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By bowgy
  • 1 Post By highcountryfever
  • 1 Post By El Matador
  • 1 Post By pelican

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2014, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Default NRA certification for Boy Scout leaders

Has anyone done the NRA certification for Scouts? I am just interested in becoming certified to teach the merit badge and have some shooting at our own little camps. I found from the scout's site that it requires 10 hours of training. There are just so many search results that I am having a hard time determining the exact requirements. If anyone has done this or is familiar, please let me know of your experience, locations, cost, time commitment, etc. Thanks!
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2014, 09:33 AM   #2 (permalink)

I used to be an NRA instructor, the NRA web site should have a list of the instructors in your area and contact info. They should list the dates that they are teaching the course. I was certified in rifle, shotgun and pistol. Any of the courses would qualify since the Safety part is the same.

I taught a lot of the Hunter Safety instructors and CFP instructors so I know a lot of them are also NRA instructors. I was also a 4H instructor. Just to give you some ideas of where to look.
Huge29 likes this.

Sometimes bravery has been considered stupidity, but never has stupidity been considered bravery.
bowgy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-03-2014, 10:27 AM   #3 (permalink)

I have done it, or at least started the process. The Utah National Parks Council has a training schedule with discounted prices for scout leaders who want to do exactly what you want to do. I have not seen the schedule for 2014, but last year there were classes in the spring and fall.