> Search
 > FAQ
» Stats
Members: 14,128
Threads: 63,735
Welcome to our newest member, mortgageautomation
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2020, 01:37 PM   #1 (permalink)

Okay I have been hunting for over 30 years. Always sight rifles in upto 600 yards by using true known range. Lots of walking etc but never minded it. Always did it very close to my hunts to have the closest weather etc. Now I find putting in for other states. Being weather is different and elevation is it smarter for me to now start chronographing my reloads and using ballistic calculator apps etc. Yes I know some might say I should have been chronoing my reloads in the past but never affected the numerous elk and deer ive taken. But just seeing how many of you use the ballistic apps. Im looking at strelok pro if I am gonna go that route as I read its the easiest to setup?

Also if im looking for a decent chronograph is the magnetospeed v3 good? Its a ton of coin and heard labradar was good but thats way too much. Thanks guys

Last edited by Aznative; 07-20-2020 at 01:39 PM.
Aznative is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-20-2020, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)

How about this, best free ballistics software out there:

http://huntingnut.com/index.php?name=PointBlank

If you have questions let me know, I'm the author.

-DallanC
silentstalker likes this.
DallanC is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2020, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)

I have used Dallan's software quite often and found it spot on when I used it on my Arizona coues hunt a couple of years ago.

I used it for my targets at 600 yards so that buck didn't stand a chance at 420 yards.