» Stats
Members: 13,680
Threads: 63,214
Welcome to our newest member, bowhuntforlife
Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By tshuman01
  • 1 Post By AF CYN

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2020, 09:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

Default GSP Pup Training Progress

Sorry for the brag post, but I had to share this with a group that would appreciate it. This is my first time training a hunting pup. We got our GSP Sammy for Christmas. She is 7 months old now and seems to be picking it up nicely. Strong drive, good nose, and catching on quick!

My work has a big problem with pigeons so I've worked with the facilities group to trap them for me to take home. I am grateful to now have a steady stream of trainer birds coming in and giving my pup lots of experiences.

So far so good! She went on strong point on two pigeons on the check cord Saturday and we worked on Whoa some more. We introduced her to the gun and she didn't even flinch! On the second bird we shot it down and released her to fetch. She found and retrieved the bird dropping it at my feet. I couldn't believe it! All I've done is play fetch with her in the back yard for a few months and taught her to drop it at my feet (I never take it from her mouth). We hid the bird several times and worked on the fetch command. Absolutely brilliant little pup. She found it every time and dropped it at my feet.

Getting excited for the fall. Now to work on whoa for most of the summer in getting her to hold that point. Going to be a big year!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0580.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	450.2 KB
ID:	141589  
gdog, AF CYN and johnnycake like this.
tshuman01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-18-2020, 11:54 AM   #2 (permalink)