> Search
 > FAQ
» Stats
Members: 13,527
Threads: 63,084
Welcome to our newest member, Fernando
Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2020, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default New to Turkey Hunting

Hi All, my name is Jim. I am new to hunting and the forum. I learning about turkeys now and hoping to do some big game hunting in the fall. I am an avid reader so I have poured over the the last few years of posts to learn everything I can from you all. Thanks for all your wisdom shared. You advice in invaluable for those of us learning to hunt, who have no support network of friends or family to help us learn this amazing lifestyle.

I have a few questions. Please answer any if you are comfortable discussing.

1) Apparently, I should have been scouting a month ago or so to have better odds locating turkeys. Am I just screwed now? Are turkeys even locatable at this point in the season? Are they still gobbling? I have scouted tons of ground in Spanish Fork and hobble creek. I have seen a little sign but heard not a gobble while using a locator call.

2) As with a lot of folk who work 8-5 type jobs and live in Salt Lake County, I don't have a lot of time to get out. Mostly weekends. Do you have any advice for e-scouting? What do you look for on a map? I've looked at the DWR Turkey layer, which is better than no information. But I've now spent days wandering trails in Spanish Fork Canyon and it feels like I am doing something wrong. People are posting about seeing 20 birds a day I haven't seen a feather on the ground... Is there a way to optimize e-scouting?

3) Lastly, if anyone would be interested in mentoring a new hunter I would welcome the opportunity. I understand that "spots" are worth more than gold. So my approach would be to pick locations to scout and then we could scout new ground together.