» Stats
Members: 13,819
Threads: 63,323
Welcome to our newest member, Tomedtay
Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By 3arabians
  • 2 Post By MooseMeat

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2020, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Dealing with cattle during archery hunts.

I have been hunting a meadow with a wallow for a few years now. I set a camera there each year. The last couple of years the cattle have been there. They come in once or twice a day to drink and then go somewhere else to hang out. The elk have always just come in when the cattle aren’t there. This year the cattle came in and they aren’t leaving. They showed up about 5 days ago and haven’t left. Needless to say, no elk are showing up now. Is that area blown? Will the cattle move on? I noticed the cattle getting closer and closer all through July and now they have homesteaded. Is there a way to kindly encourage them to move on? I have no “beef” with cattle or the ranchers but I would really like to hunt that area. It’s really a great spot. Any thoughts or advice?
Thanks
stripey22 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-25-2020, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)

That sucks! I know how you feel. I’ve had a few elk hunts ruined by cattle in my day. Or did I let them ruin it for me?? Unfortunately there isn’t much you can do about the cattle. Just improvise and adapt to them if they stick around. There is still a few weeks until archery opening day and over a month until archery elk heats up. They will probably move on before the hunt starts but a new batch will probably move in. I’ve also seen many times when cattle and elk hang out together

Could be worse. Could be range maggots instead of cattle.
bowgy, Raptorman and OriginalOscar like this.
Old 07-25-2020, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)