> Search
 > FAQ
» Stats
Members: 11,603
Threads: 57,025
Welcome to our newest member, Beanus
Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2017, 08:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Break in period.

I'm new to archery. Bought a new bow set at 65# 31 inch draw. I have shot about 100 shots at this point. I plan on setting it to 70# after the string breaks in. My question is about how many more shots before I get it tuned again? And will I have to continue tuning to keep it shooting the same after it is broken in?
TPrawitt91 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2017, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)

Most shops say 500 shots then bring it back in to retune
Utahyounggun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2017, 11:50 PM   #3 (permalink)

200 shots used to be the norm. With the equipment a lot of the string makers now use with pre stretched materials, companies like Winners Choice say 20 or so. Many claim no break in is required. The biggest thing I find that changes is the peep rotation. It takes a few shots to get the string settled in so the peep stays put. When I put on a new string, I don't tie in the peep or D loop permanent until I shoot about 100 shots. After that many shots, things always are stable if I am using a quality string from a reputable company.

The simplest and best thing to do is take some measurements (axel to axel, brace height, etc), put some marks on your cams and then shoot some arrows. You can tell at a glance if something has changed. You can also tell if something changes as the arrow starts hitting differently. That is one of the reasons I prefer the Binary Cam system. Once the cams are synced, even when the string stretches, the cams stay in sync.
bow_dude is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2017, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)